💬 Contact Us
Register | Login
Robotics
Home Contests Arena Inventions Past Results Forum FAQs
Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » 2011-12 State Robotics (Do Not Use) » 2011-12 State Arena




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Meltdown Question
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:31 am
Posts: 6
Does the whole stack have to be exactly stacked? What if one or two of the checkers aren't stacked straight on top of each other, but do not fall off of the stack? Does it still count as a meltdown?

Does it go the same for the black?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Meltdown Question
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
Lindeyy wrote:
Does the whole stack have to be exactly stacked? What if one or two of the checkers aren't stacked straight on top of each other, but do not fall off of the stack? Does it still count as a meltdown?


Meltdown is defined in the "NOTE" entry in Rule 4.3.8:

"An Active (red) Fuel Rod is considered in “Meltdown” if it no longer meets the qualification of being a “Fuel Rod” – i.e. is no longer a stack of 5 Fuel Pellets with only the bottom Pellet in the stack touching the mat or other objects on the field (other than other Fuel Pellets)."

In this definition it does not state how the checkers are to be stacked, so long as it's a stack of 5 and only the bottom pellet is touching the mat. Therefore, two checkers could be precariously perched but as long as they are still stacked 5-high they're considered a "Rod."

Lindeyy wrote:
Does it go the same for the black?


The definition in Rule 4.3.8 implies that Meltdown is limited to Active (red) Fuel Rods - we can deduce that Depleted (Black) Fuel Rods don't "melt down" because they're not hot (and therefore don't melt at all). To further clarify this, Rule 5.1.2 also only talks about Active (red) Fuel Rods - it states that if Both Active (red) Fuel Rods enter the "Meltdown" state then the game stops immediately, but no mention is made of Depleted (black) Fuel Rods. Therefore, we can be safe in the knowledge that we don't really care about Depleted (black) Fuel Rods, except when it comes to cleaning up the depleted fuel in the Waste Disposal Area (or within the robot itself).

-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Meltdown Question
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 9:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:31 am
Posts: 6
So, if one or two fall off, would it still be considered a rod?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Meltdown Question
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
Lindeyy wrote:
So, if one or two fall off, would it still be considered a rod?


Please see the definition of "Rod" in Section 4.1 (second paragraph) and the definition of "Meltdown" in 4.3.8 (which defines how a Rod ceases to be a Rod, even temporarily). Please note that in Advanced Play, if your robot touches the upper checkers in the Rod THE ROD ENTERS "MELTDOWN" TEMPORARILY until your robot stops touching the upper checkers or the Rod is put into a permanent "MELTDOWN" state. Therefore, in Advanced, if both Rods are in the "MELTDOWN" state even for a second the game ends immediately. BE VERY CAREFUL ABOUT THIS!!! I bet this will catch more than one team this weekend.

-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Meltdown Question
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 12:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:31 am
Posts: 6
ddiaz wrote:
I bet this will catch more than one team this weekend.


What exactly do you mean by this? :shock:


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Meltdown Question
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 1:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:38 pm
Posts: 2
I think they are asking about when a depleted rod is no longer considered a rod. Does it follow the same rule as the active fuel rod where its no longer a rod if more than one pellet is touching something else? or Does it follow the set up definition of a rod where if the pellets are no longer interlocked it is no longer a rod? This comes into play when a robot captures an intact depleted fuel rod.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Meltdown Question
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 2:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
Hobbs wrote:
I think they are asking about when a depleted rod is no longer considered a rod. Does it follow the same rule as the active fuel rod where its no longer a rod if more than one pellet is touching something else? or Does it follow the set up definition of a rod where if the pellets are no longer interlocked it is no longer a rod? This comes into play when a robot captures an intact depleted fuel rod.


I must treat a Depleted (black) Fuel Rod the same as an Active (red) Fuel Rod - with the exception that Depleted (black) Fuel Rods cannot undergo "Meltdown." Otherwise, it's going to be very difficult to train referees and keep them consistent.

-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Meltdown Question
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
Lindeyy wrote:
ddiaz wrote:
I bet this will catch more than one team this weekend.


What exactly do you mean by this? :shock:


Up until now, we waited until the end of the match to assess the state of the field (and, in all regards, the state of the Rods). If you caused an Active (red) Fuel Rod to transition into "Meltdown", we didn't have to assess the state of the Rod until after the match was over - you could touch the rod anywhere you wanted, and as long as your robot was no longer touching the Rod at the end of the match we could give you credit for the Rod (assuming it was intact). Also, if you broke apart a Rod into Pellets you could technically reassemble the Rod before the end of the match and it would be fine. HOWEVER, now we have to evaluate the Rods in real-time. If you already have one Active (red) Rod in "Meltdown", we have to carefully watch the second Active (red) Rod to see when it goes into Meltdown - remember, if a pellet OTHER THAN THE BOTTOM PELLET in the Rod touches ANYTHING (except another pellet of the same rod or another rod/pellet) then the Rod immediately goes into "Meltdown" even if it is still technically a "stack of 5."

Therefore, let's consider two scenarios:
  1. A robot knocks down an Active (red) Fuel Rod. That rod is now in Meltdown.
  2. A robot grabs an Active (red) Fuel Rod for delivery, and one of the upper pellets in the rod rest against the robot. That rod is now in Meltdown. However, if the robot releases the rod and the rod remains standing with 5 pellets stacked, then the Rod is no longer in Meltdown and is considered an Active (red) Fuel Rod.

If either of these happens in isolation, meaning there is another Active (red) Fuel Rod in existence somewhere else on the board, you're fine and life goes on. However, when these two scenarios happen together you might be in trouble at State.

If (2) happens first, and then (1) happens, you're fine because at ALL TIMES there is one Active (red) Fuel Rod NOT in the Meltdown state.

However, if (1) happens first, and then (2) happens, you're in trouble - as soon as the Rod in (2) goes into Meltdown (as it's being transported) then the game will immediately stop because of rule 5.1.2. In this scenario, both Active (red) Fuel Rods have gone into Meltdown, even though one of the rods still technically has all 5 checkers stacked. This is what I mean by "this will catch more than one team."

-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Meltdown Question
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:38 pm
Posts: 2
Ok Thanks for the quick reply. That makes sense. Also thanks for all the extra work you have to do to set up this competition.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Meltdown Question
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 8:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:31 am
Posts: 6
Oh ok. Thanks for the help. :)


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Board index » 2011-12 State Robotics (Do Not Use) » 2011-12 State Arena


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron