💬 Contact Us
Register | Login
Robotics
Home Contests Arena Inventions Past Results Forum FAQs
Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » 2011-12 State Robotics (Do Not Use) » 2011-12 State Arena




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 9:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:56 am
Posts: 44
Danny,

Below is a question from a sponsor.

With the black fuel rods, we are reading that if they are not in the waste disposal area you lose 50 points. If the rods are touching the robot and off the mat, do they get 20 points per checker on the robot (100 points minus the 50 for not being in the waste disposal area)

Also, does the robot count as a waste disposal area (they don’t lose the 50 points )?

_________________
Thanks,

Katie Treat | Texas Computer Education Association
Ph: (800) 282-8232 | Direct: (512) 450-5404 | Fax: (512) 476-8574
treat@tcea.org | www.tcea.org


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 2:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
KTreat wrote:
With the black fuel rods, we are reading that if they are not in the waste disposal area you lose 50 points. If the rods are touching the robot and off the mat, do they get 20 points per checker on the robot (100 points minus the 50 for not being in the waste disposal area)

Also, does the robot count as a waste disposal area (they don’t lose the 50 points )?


Wow, I have no idea why I haven't seen this question until now.

When it comes to RODS, the rules are silent regarding RODS in ROBOTS. This means that as far as the rules are concerned, you should only be putting PELLETS in robots, not RODS. If you put a ROD in a ROBOT, it counts for nothing and is penalized for not being in the official Waste Disposal Area. However, if the ROD is somehow broken up into PELLETS (by perhaps picking up the robot and shaking the stuffing out of it prior to the end of time, if such an action would break apart the ROD) then you'd receive maximum credit for the PELLETS and no penalty.

The ROD vs ROBOT omission was found in the rules a month after the rules had been finalized - yet another reason why I need people to help flesh out rules. Therefore, it's something you must consider in your designs and strategy. For more information, please carefully read this thread (especially the last post):

http://forum.tcea.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=12

-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

Board index » 2011-12 State Robotics (Do Not Use) » 2011-12 State Arena


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron