💬 Contact Us
Register | Login
Robotics
Home Contests Arena Inventions Past Results Forum FAQs
Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » 2012-13 State Robotics (Do Not Use) » 2012-13 State Arena




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
Navyarms wrote:
i have become aware that you can recover your robot for free if it is in the safety/ending zone ( one drive wheel in and touching wall ) . When you make this recovery there cannot be any items in the starting zone ( They get taking out if so). But what if you have checkers inside your robot when you make this recovery. Would you be able to take them out and place them infront of your robot at the starting zone ? can you (as a human) manipulate the checkers that you had inside your robot (Without a penalty if being then what would it be ). If at all placed inside the starting zone when recovered. Please regard that this is for the advanced division and not the intermediate so that there is no confusion. Thank you.


You have indeed become aware - this is likely either the beginning of SkyNet, or the late-blossoming of an incredibly awesome strategy. Let's hope for the latter and not the former. But this may not be as advantageous of a strategy as you might have initially considered.

Let's analyze this tactic up-close, and for specificity let's from now on discuss this in the frame of mind of an Advanced Division team. You are correct, Rule 5.0.4 allows you to recover your robot and bring it - along with any game pieces possibly contained within the robot - back to the Robot Start Zone (very good reading of this rule). This indeed allows your robot to pick up game pieces and allows you to bring the robot back WITH the game pieces (this is the ONLY way this is allowed). However, as an Advanced Team you are not allowed to manipulate the game pieces by human hands, ever; Rule 5.0.6 seems like a candidate to allow for this, but 5.0.6 only covers robot parts - not game pieces (and just because the game pieces are within the robot doesn't make them robot parts). The logical next question is, "Can you empty the game pieces into the Robot Start Zone once you bring your robot back?" and the answer would be, "No, the Robot Start Zone must be clear of game pieces prior to placing the robot in the Robot Start Zone (interpretation of rule 5.0.4 next-to-last sentence)." The logical follow-on is, "Can you empty the game pieces outside the Robot Start Zone once you bring your robot back?" and the answer would be, "No, the robot must be immediately brought back to the Robot Start Zone (the robot and everything it has) when recovered (rule 5.0.4 third sentence) and only the robot may extend beyond the Robot Start Zone prior to restarting the robot (interpretation of rule 5.0.6)." So, removing the game pieces from the robot between the time it is recovered and the time you restart the robot is not legal. However, the robot may do whatever it wants to the game pieces once you've restarted the robot - even from within the Robot Start Zone.

If we were to look at this strategy from the perspective of an Intermediate team, though, the picture doesn't really change a whole lot. Intermediate teams aren't allowed to touch the game pieces if they're in contact with the robot, so the robot would have to somehow regurgitate or "self-remove" the game pieces from the robot (but keep them within the Robot Start Zone) in order to be allowed to manipulate them by hand. And at that point, there's not much difference from the robot bringing them back through the "traditional" method - except maybe there is a difference in robot orientation. :|

Good luck!
-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

Board index » 2012-13 State Robotics (Do Not Use) » 2012-13 State Arena


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron