💬 Contact Us
Register | Login
Robotics
Home Contests Arena Inventions Past Results Forum FAQs
Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » 2012-13 State Robotics (Do Not Use) » 2012-13 State Arena




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 12:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 12:46 pm
Posts: 5
If an intermediate team leaves the 3rd catalyst in start zone at beginning of match, they can only bring 4 pieces back to the start zone?

If a robot brings pieces back to start zone and is no longer touching them. Does it have to be completely out of start zone before pieces can be touched?

Does a piece have to be set down completely in start zone (not just touching the start zone) on the mat for the robot to move to desired location? For example, some pieces are stacked on the catalyst and placed partially in the start zone. The robot then moves these pieces.

Thank you


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:52 pm
Posts: 34
The rule is that the piece or robot is in the safety zone when it breaks the plane of the border. So the robot must be entirely out for pieces to be touched. It should be legal to set a piece anywhere that it is breaking the plane.
Berry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:32 am
Posts: 12
According to the rules, the robot does NOT have to be completely out of the Start Zone in order to touch the pieces. The rule states:

"If there are no more than 5 game pieces in the Robot Start Zone, and the robot is not
in contact with any of these game pieces, team members may remove or rearrange game pieces BY HAND within the Robot Start Zone."

So, the robot may be in the Start Zone but just may not be touching any of the pieces.

- Terri


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
tarmendariz wrote:
According to the rules, the robot does NOT have to be completely out of the Start Zone in order to touch the pieces. The rule states:

"If there are no more than 5 game pieces in the Robot Start Zone, and the robot is not
in contact with any of these game pieces, team members may remove or rearrange game pieces BY HAND within the Robot Start Zone."

So, the robot may be in the Start Zone but just may not be touching any of the pieces.

This is the correct reading of the rules. As I've stated many times, there is no rule governing the Intermediate Freedom based on the position of the robot - unless that position causes the robot to be in direct or indirect CONTACT with the game pieces (indirect if multiple game pieces are "chained by contact" with the robot).

-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
jdmedrano wrote:
If an intermediate team leaves the 3rd catalyst in start zone at beginning of match, they can only bring 4 pieces back to the start zone?

No, the robot can bring back as many items to the Robot Start Zone as you want. But if there are more than 5 items in the Robot Start Zone, you cannot touch the items in the zone.

jdmedrano wrote:
If a robot brings pieces back to start zone and is no longer touching them. Does it have to be completely out of start zone before pieces can be touched?

Nope.

jdmedrano wrote:
Does a piece have to be set down completely in start zone (not just touching the start zone) on the mat for the robot to move to desired location? For example, some pieces are stacked on the catalyst and placed partially in the start zone. The robot then moves these pieces.

Nope. This procedure is perfectly legal.

-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Board index » 2012-13 State Robotics (Do Not Use) » 2012-13 State Arena


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron