💬 Contact Us
Register | Login
Robotics
Home Contests Arena Inventions Past Results Forum FAQs
Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » 2012-13 State Robotics (Do Not Use) » 2012-13 State Arena




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: The third catalyst
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:19 pm
Posts: 1
In the state competition variations it states that a third catalyst can be pre-loaded on the robot before the start of the match. Does pre-loaded mean that the catalyst needs to be physically ON the robot or can it be pushed into a scoop on the robot? In other words, can the catalyst be touching the mat?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The third catalyst
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
cderamus wrote:
In the state competition variations it states that a third catalyst can be pre-loaded on the robot before the start of the match. Does pre-loaded mean that the catalyst needs to be physically ON the robot or can it be pushed into a scoop on the robot? In other words, can the catalyst be touching the mat?


Thanks for the question, you're right that this wasn't clarified completely enough. The intent of this rule was to allow a team to -almost- do anything they want with it (except score it immediately by hand). The team may:

  1. Incorporate the third Catalyst as part of their robot (and the Catalyst will not count against size restrictions).
    • The Catalyst MAY be touching the mat.
  2. Place the third Catalyst within the Robot Start Zone (perhaps to allow the robot to later come back and retrieve it).
  3. Refuse the third Catalyst and play without it.


For example, option (1) allows a team to place the third Catalyst within a "scoop" that may eventually be used to contain/gather other game pieces, or place the third Catalyst in front of the robot to be pushed into a specific location on the board by the robot, or possibly even used as a functional or nonfunctional addition/decoration on the robot (does not need to be declared on the Bill of Materials).

Be careful, however, if a team chooses option (2) the item will be considered a regular game piece once the game has started. If the robot is touched while the third Catalyst is still within the Robot Start Zone, that item must be taken out of play before the robot can be brought back to the Robot Start Zone.

I hope this clarifies your question.

-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The third catalyst
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 9:29 pm
Posts: 5
Can the students hold the catalyst in their hand and place it in the robot start zone after they have started their robot and it moves out of the start zone?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The third catalyst
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
msteachertechno wrote:
Can the students hold the catalyst in their hand and place it in the robot start zone after they have started their robot and it moves out of the start zone?

I think this would be okay for Intermediate teams as a very loose translation of rule 5.0.7 (because a robot start is not considered a "recovery" under rule 5.0.4). However, this would not be allowed for Advanced Teams.

-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The third catalyst
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:52 pm
Posts: 34
To be "in the start zone", does the third catalyst have to be ENTIRELY within the start zone border, or does it follow the same rules as, say, the reactor sites?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The third catalyst
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
physteach wrote:
To be "in the start zone", does the third catalyst have to be ENTIRELY within the start zone border, or does it follow the same rules as, say, the reactor sites?

It would follow the same rules as any zone, including the reactor sites.

-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The third catalyst
 Post Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:08 pm
Posts: 39
Just to clarify: Students can not hold the catalyst in their hand till the end of their program. They must use the third catalyst at the beginning of their program or place it in the start zone and not recover their robot from the safety zone or recover with penalty. Or can they hold it till the end? :mrgreen:


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The third catalyst
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 10:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
tamidh wrote:
Just to clarify: Students can not hold the catalyst in their hand till the end of their program. They must use the third catalyst at the beginning of their program or place it in the start zone and not recover their robot from the safety zone or recover with penalty. Or can they hold it till the end? :mrgreen:


As a clarification point, intermediate teams who wish to hold the catalyst in their hand may do so for as long as they want - those items will technically be considered in the Robot Start Zone. If one of the triggers take place that require all items to be removed from the Robot Start Zone (recovering the robot from not within the Safety Zone, for instance) then any items in the Robot Start Zone - and the team's hand - are lost.

-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The third catalyst
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 8:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:21 pm
Posts: 6
Danny are the judges going to be aware of this. Will they know that the student can hold the catalyst till the end and then place it in the start zone for the last move. For example my team is running two programs. They will recover the robot from the safety zone and place it in the start zone to run their last program. So they will be able to then place the third catalyst in the start zone before running their second program. Is this ok?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The third catalyst
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:50 pm
Posts: 652
michael.gonzalez wrote:
For example my team is running two programs. They will recover the robot from the safety zone and place it in the start zone to run their last program. So they will be able to then place the third catalyst in the start zone before running their second program. Is this ok?


No, this would not be legal, and let's uncover why (this also covers the question by tamidh, which it looks like I never completely answered).

Rule 5.0.10 states that robots IN the Safety Zone may be brought by hand to the Robot Start Zone without penalty as long as there are no items already in the Robot Start Zone. If the students have a Catalyst in-hand, it is considered in the Robot Start Zone - therefore, the students may NOT bring the robot by hand back to the Robot Start Zone. If the student hands the Catalyst to the referee, to be taken out of play, THEN the students may bring the robot to the Robot Start Zone (Remember, ADVANCED teams are never allowed to hold onto the 3rd Catalyst).

So, rule 5.0.10 isn't considered a trigger for removing items from the Robot Start Zone, but the Zone must be cleared in order to allow 5.0.10 to take place. The simple matter is, if the students recover their robot with or without a penalty, that 3rd catalyst must be dealt with by then.

-Danny


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » 2012-13 State Robotics (Do Not Use) » 2012-13 State Arena


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron